NHC Receives Record Number of Entries

The 2016 SOBA National Homebrew Competition takes place this Saturday, and has already broken records.

This year thirty nine of New Zealand’s most qualified beer judges will descend upon Auckland’s Fine Wine Delivery Co to judge a over 720 homebrews. This number is up from 539 entries in 2015, an unprecedented surge compared to the normal growth of 100 entries per year.

Thanks to our sponsors who make NHC possible.

NHC uses ground breaking software to organise and process entries, created by organiser and SOBA committee member Phil Murray.
Murray’s software delivers brewers judges notes to their inbox just minutes after their beer was judged. It also publicly tweets all medal winning beers on @Soba_NHC, so anyone can follow along this Saturday to see who is winning the bronze, silver and gold medals.

Beers will be judged against the 2015 BJCP Style Guidelines, which rates each beer out of a possible 50 points. Beers scoring “Very Good” (30 – 37) receive a bronze medal, scoring “Excellent” (38 – 44) will bag a silver and coveted gold medals go to the few beers scoring “Outstanding” (45 – 50).

Judging at the 2015 NHC

Making these decisions is a star panel of judges, many of whom have judged at the World Beer Cup (known as the Olympics of beer). To help grow NZ’s beer judging talent pool each table has a trainee judge as well as two experienced judges.

Judging this year we have:

Table Captain Judge Trainee
Graeme Mahy Sam Williamson Georgia Davies
Jason Bathgate Dylan Shearer Pilar Ugarte
Greig McGill Shigeo “Shiggy” Takagi Mike Stringer
Martin Craig Andrew Childs Tim Low
Ben Middlemiss Brendon McKenzie Scott Sharp-Heward
David Wood Jules Van Cruysen Tim Witton
Kelly Ryan Carlos de la Barra Rory Lynch
Søren Eriksen Martin Bridges Alice Galletly
Kieran Haslett-Moore Brent Edwards Anita Mitchell
Denise Garland Allan Hawkes Viktoria Steinhaus
Phil Murray Mark Jackman Reuben Rowntree
David Nicholls Benji Rockwell Stephen Wood
Albrecht von Wallmoden Adrian Heyes Russell Erskine

Head judge Geoff Griggs will be keeping an eye on all proceedings and resolving any disagreements.

About David
SOBA Website Admin, Former SOBA President (2013-2016), Former SOBA Committee Member (2011-2013)


  1. Hi there, is the judging venue open to the public/entrants? What is the timing of the day? – i.e. when’s the best time to come? Thanks.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.